Webb separation from Ariane 5

This real-time video shows the separation of the James Webb Space Telescope from the Ariane 5 launch vehicle and the subsequent solar array deployment.

Webb’s launch on an ESA-provided Ariane 5 rocket was performed by @arianespace on behalf of ESA from Europe’s Spaceport in French Guiana, at 12:20:07 GMT (13:20:07 CET) on 25 December 2021.

Webb separation from the Ariane 5 occurred at 12:47:14 GMT (13:47:14 CET) with solar array deployment starting 69 seconds later.

Thanks to Ariane 5’s highly precise launch trajectory Webb’s solar array was able to deploy soon after separation from the Ariane 5, capturing sunlight to power the observatory.

Read more ›

Login to rate this video.

You can place this video on your website by inserting the (X)HTML code below:

Options:
pixels
pixels
Embed code:
<iframe src="https://www.snotr.com/embed/21511" width="400" height="330" frameborder="0"></iframe>

You can email this video to your friends by entering their addresses below:

Your information:
Recipients:

add Add another recipient

Human verification:

People who liked this video also liked

Surprise Twist During Cat Rescue
Best Animal News Bloopers Compilation 2018
Alternative Math
Kid hoopster is 7'5" (Shaq is 7'1")
Experiment! How Does An Owl Fly So Silently? - Super Powered Owls - BBC
Hedgehog Babies!

Comments

2 comments posted so far. Login to add a comment.

Expand all comments

Picture of Judge-Jake53 achievements

+1 1. Judge-Jake commented 20 days ago

It looked like a giant space light bulb for a moment there. :)
Picture of thundersnow58 achievements

0 2. thundersnow commented 18 days ago

#1 I think this video is beautiful, but in all honesty I'm not exactly sure what's going on. 8-)